Recruiter In Korea

The Honest Truth About Recruiting in Korea

Hello Everyone!

with 3 comments

I decided to start this blog as somewhat of an information service/venting place/complaint center for the instructor recruiting industry in Korea.  I’ve been recruiting language instructors in Korea for about 4 years now.  Prior to that I worked as an instructor for one of the largest ESL schools in Korea.  I feel that I’m pretty knowledgeable about the industry but then again, I learn something new everyday.  To avoid conflicts of interest with the current agency that I work for along with the candidates/instructors that I have (and am) working with, unfortunately, I must remain anonymous.

The recruiting industry generally gets a bad rap from instructors.  Much of the complaints (hatred) is legitimate but I would also like to give our side of the story.  I know that there are a lot of shady recruiters out there who are basically salesmen trying to make a buck.  Recruiting is obviously a business where one must survive by providing services that schools demand.  That being said, there are good recruiters and bad recruiters.  The latter have overshadowed the  good ones which is why there is a bad taste even at the mention of the word ‘recruiter’.

I would like to say that I am one of the ‘good’ recruiters but also wish to share what exactly goes on in our industry so that everyone could have a clearer perspective of the nature of our jobs.  I’ll update as much as I can with exactly what goes on in my world.

I welcome any feedback and suggestions that you guys could provide!

Written by recruiterinkorea

October 31, 2009 at 6:16 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pretty sure we’ve met-we had dinner and drinks in Bundang and lived about 50m apart in Bundang 2 years ago.
    Look forward to reading your blog and insights whatever they may be.
    J.

    rothkowitz

    November 1, 2009 at 6:55 pm

  2. Very good blog idea. Looking forward to reading more.

    Steve

    November 2, 2009 at 9:58 am

  3. […] my very first post, I outlined the reasons for starting this blog.  I work in this industry that everyone loves to […]


Leave a Reply

