Recruiter In Korea

The Honest Truth About Recruiting in Korea

ESL Cafe Thread on this Blog

leave a comment »

Thanks to ‘IS-F’ for giving me a shout out on ESL Cafe.  I went out to go party last night so I haven’t checked out what’s going on here until now.  Got about 280 hits since I started this yesterday.  I’m new to the blogging world so I don’t know if that’s good or not.  Anyways, I’ll tell you guys the truth on why I started this.  Pretty much I was bored.  Lots of great blogs here in Korea written by instructors but have yet to see one by a recruiter (not as plentiful but still a lot of us).

Most importantly though, I wanted to improve my writing.  Yes I am a westerner; I have an F-series visa (guess which one) and I was born in a western country.  However, I WRITE THE SAME FUCKING SHIT EVERYDAY!!!  For the past 4 years.  It’s driving me nuts.  Here’s what docs you need to send off, No, the visa code takes more than a day to be issued, You have to fly into ICN not Gimpo, The work hours are from 1:00 pm to 7:00 pm, Cheonan is about 2 hours from Seoul but only 15 minutes by KTX, blah blah blah.  I swear I have hundreds of templates.  I work with other foreigners (and an equal amount of Koreans too) so I guess my conversation skills are up to par but it’s like being in the same play everyday for years.  Any foreigner who lived here for a long time knows that you tend to forget words here and there after some time.

I understand though.  If you’re going to teach in Korea, you better ask your recruiter every single question that you can think of.  Just don’t ask stupid questions, like if you could attend your best friend’s wedding and get 2 weeks off 3 months into your contract (the answer is NO).  Ask about the hours, the apartment, what’s included.  Ask for an email address of a current instructor.  If your recruiter isn’t playing games, he/she will be more than happy to ask for one.  If your recruiter stutters and doesn’t seem to know jack shit about the school it’s probably because they don’t.  Move on.

Since I’m anonymous, I’m going to always state my honest opinion whether it’s popular or not.  I’m also going to swear like a fucking sailor.  This is not a professional blog by any means and I’m in no way trying to shamelessly support the recruiting industry or my agency or myself.  I’m just telling you the way it is from my side.  Funny thing is, I probably already met a bunch of you guys or talked to you on the phone.  But the day you guys find out who this is, that’s the end of this blog.

Yes, the recruiting industry is slimy, yes I believe that a good portion of hagwon directors are the scum of the earth, and yes, I also believe that Korea attracts more than a handful of freaky foreigners.

Written by recruiterinkorea

November 1, 2009 at 6:07 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

