Recruiter In Korea

The Honest Truth About Recruiting in Korea

TEFL/TESOL/CELTA Certificates: Worth it?

with one comment

HT to Vicandric for the topic idea. I actually don’t specialize in public school recruiting (another recruiter in my agency does) but I’m pretty sure it’s helpful in getting that bump in pay for EPIK/GEPIK/SMOE if you have one of those certificates (someone can correct me if I’m wrong).

For all other schools? It really depends on the school but from my experience it’s a definite plus in terms of a director accepting an application and can also lead (typically) to a pay raise as well, usually in the 100,000 to 200,000 KRW/month range. I would say more often than not (90%?) schools will absolutely take into consideration a teaching certificate. And to tell you the truth, most of them don’t give a rat’s ass (or simply don’t care/know) if that certificate was obtained online or not. I’ve heard some of them being as cheap as $100 USD for 20 hours so I would say yes, definitely go for it because not only will it spruce up the resume, it will potentially lead to higher pay.

All the pay stuff aside, I’ve never taken any of those courses, but I’m sure it will at the very least give you a head start/good idea of teaching English. Is it really all that relevant in teaching in Korea though? Maybe if you’re teaching adults.

Anyone know of a reasonably-priced, legit course where you can obtain one of these?

Written by recruiterinkorea

November 13, 2009 at 12:16 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] advocated before that a TEFL/TESOL/CELTA are worth getting due to the relatively low cost and good chance that you […]


Leave a Reply

