Recruiter In Korea

The Honest Truth About Recruiting in Korea

Anybody have a Blackberry Bold?

with 6 comments

I just got mine last week.  Very tricky to use but more convenient for emails and typing in English (useful when I’m not in the office or at home).  Gotta learn lots of shortcuts but getting used to it.  I was thinking about the iphone but I’m not too into ‘touch’ phones; I need to actually feel the button being pressed.  The iphone is a lot cheaper (around 200 or less I think?).  This baby cost more than 600,000 KRW but less if I choose a higher airtime plan in the future.  They forced me to get BIS (Blackberry Internet Service) but I think I’m going to cancel it as I have no use for it and it’s an extra 14,000 KRW a month.

Does anyone else use this or iphone?  Advantages/disadvantages?  Cool apps?  I miss having an English-Korean dictionary on my old phone and can’t seem to find an app for this.

Written by recruiterinkorea

December 11, 2009 at 12:18 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very nice phone. If what you primarily need your phone for is replying to emails, then the Blackberry, with it’s awesome keyboard, will win out.

    For everything else, it’s hard to beat the iPhone and its tens of thousands of applications. I got one the day it came out (the GF bought it for me) and I’m really happy.

    Polly

    December 11, 2009 at 7:40 pm

  2. i like BB and iphone

    AdSenseHolic

    December 11, 2009 at 11:35 pm

  3. Get your ass over to crackberry.com for all things Blackberry related. It helped me out a lot when I first got my Crackberry Curve (yes, I’m low rent but it has WiFi).

    You need BIS for emails unless you use a workaround like gmail or shangmail for push email. You can learn all this over at the crack, too. I don’t mean to be pimping them so much, but a lot of good info, software, and help over there.

    No comment on iPhone. I get no ATT coverage at my house. And I can’t use a touch keyboard either.

    Q

    December 15, 2009 at 10:33 pm

  4. […] last Friday (Buddha day or whatever it was).  When I’m not at home working, I’m on my BlackBerry.  Because we’re based in Korea, there’s a lot of correspondence with our overseas […]

  5. […] you are okay with paying ridiculous roaming rates.  I have heard of people registering their Blackberry or iPhone that they brought from home and using them in Korea, but there’s a hefty charge; I […]


Leave a Reply

