Recruiter In Korea

The Honest Truth About Recruiting in Korea

Recruiters getting a bad rap on Dave’s

with 11 comments

Going through the job discussion forum on Dave’s, I’m noticing more than usual discussion on recruiters and they’re ALL negative.  Here, here, here, and here.  And that’s only on the first page.  Let me give you the breakdown on the recruiters these posters are dealing with:

They’re unprofessional, pathetic idiots who are better off in different jobs.  I was going to suggest the service industry but obviously these morons have no social skills so that would be inappropriate.

If a recruiter is intentionally trying to screw you over he/she has way too much time on their hands.  Do they actually think that going this route would actually result in something positive, like a placement fee?  If I knew that a relationship with a candidate was heading south, I would just end it right there.  Why be malicious for something fruitless.  You’re only making yourself look petty and giving you and your agency a bad name.

A recruiter is trying to sue you for backing out of a contract?  HA!  Now I do understand it sucks for recruiters if you sign a contract and then back out.  But hello!?!  It’s NOT illegal.  I don’t want to condone this kind of behaviour; candidates, please research jobs thoroughly before signing on the dotted line.  But again, this idiot (the recruiter not the candidate) is trying to get water from an empty well.  Now, this recruiter can be a dick and try to hold your documents hostage but in the end, THAT’S ILLEGAL, and you can and will get them back.

Another poster suggested that the above case was a scam that some recruiters try to pull to get some blackmail money from applicants.  If these guys think that you’re really that stupid then it could be possible.  But obviously anyone with a high school diploma wouldn’t fall for something like this.  So it makes the recruiters who pull this ‘scam’ stupid.  Hey, anything is possible right?

Yes, recruiters are getting a bad rap these days (well it seems more than usual).  These douchebags deserve it and I’m somewhat ashamed to be a part of this industry (if you can even call it that).  Rest assured, these guys won’t be in business that long and they shouldn’t be.

If at all possible, try to apply directly to a company rather than going through a recruiter (sorry again boss, but it’s true!).

I remember advising that you send off your resume to as many recruiters as possible.  You know what?  Axe that.  There’s too many dummies out there.  Just follow these steps (more here too) in finding/using decent recruiters to help you land that position.  Don’t bother sending your resume to anyone that seems ‘off’.

Maybe it’s the economy but it seems that these guys are getting more desperate.  Desperation is trouble so avoid it if you notice even a hint of it.  Good thing that I get a base salary so I’m not too worried.  The straight and narrow path is the only way to success so I’ll be laughing when these guys are delivering 짜짱면 when they’re in their forties.

Written by recruiterinkorea

December 14, 2009 at 11:16 am

Posted in Uncategorized

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] a comment » Following up on my previous post, I know that the mods on Dave’s strongly discourage name-dropping in a negative light since a […]

  2. […] try to place them in a shitty position.  We know it sucks, we know you’re pissed, so only an idiot recruiter will try to do this.  As a matter of fact, when this happens, we try to place them somewhere […]

  3. […] hopefully this will mean the scumbags of the industry will disappear.  To be honest though, I’m not seeing as many Seoul locations as one would […]

  4. […] Now for those of you that have kept up with my blog (thanks!) you know that I’m very unsympathetic on the industry that I’ve worked in for several years.  However, a job is a job anywhere you go.  Be […]

  5. […] hehe) but I’m pretty sure some of them read this too.  I don’t talk to fondly of my industry so I really don’t want to lose the job I had for several years (man, I’m getting […]

  6. […] work with dishonest employers.  You also know (if you read my other posts) that I absolutely hate recruiters that will sell their own sisters to make a fee.  Those guys don’t last too long.  Me?  I’ve been doing this for more […]

  7. […] we won’t be working with them anymore.  I mentioned a lot of times before that my agency doesn’t work with shady schools.  Now in this particular example, they weren’t doing anything necessarily illegal.  They […]

  8. […] a nice guy recruiter (haha and sorry boss) but in the ESL industry in Korea, it’s best to use as many recruiters as possible.  Why?  Teaching positions here will not greatly differ from one recruiter to the next.  Looking […]

  9. […] has gotten a lot better.  Of course there are still a lot of schools out there that prefer to take vulnerable/ignorant/misinformed/desperate over someone who will actually be a good instructor and not run away after 2 months, so maybe it […]

  10. […] their contract either by their own will or by being terminated.  Also, we do our best to work with schools that place their instructors in the best situation possible […]

  11. […] you read through this blog, you’ll generally get a good idea of what I mean, particularly the reputation among foreign native English instructors in […]


Leave a Reply

