Recruiter In Korea

The Honest Truth About Recruiting in Korea

Unnecessary email to recruiter

with 8 comments

A recruiter colleague of mine (different company) received the following email in his inbox from a candidate.

To Whom it May Concern

Each and every email address on this email is a recruiting agency to which I have applied for a job in Korea since 16th November 2009 and each and everyone on this list has failed to reply to my emails.  I will be leaving Korea after eight years here and I will be leaving with a very sour taste in my mouth for recruiters here who do not have the common decency to reply to emails.  I will also be leaving with a sour taste in my mouth for the country that has been my home for eight years which is no longer looks at people with experience be they older or younger but at young people with no experience.  Soon there will be a shortage of capable teachers left in Korea as a result, especially people who know how to teach English as a Second Language.

Regards,

XXXX

First of all, you have to understand that recruiters are very picky.   They have to be.  After all, it’s really the schools that are demanding the candidates.  Sometimes these demands are unreasonable but a lot of times, it’s the applicant’s initial email or the following correspondence that turns the recruiter/school off.  Now by no means am I saying that above email sender was being a like the latter; in fact, he’s claiming he got no replies at all which is probably because (as he implies) is ‘older’ than the average applicant.

I definitely understand his frustration.  And I also did mention before that whether or not a recruiter has a suitable job for you, the proper thing to do is always reply with a short note.  I also understand that Korean employers are not in tune (stating the obvious) on what makes a good instructor or not.  Doesn’t necessarily have anything to do with age, race, etc., but recruiters can get fed up too when employers keep asking for a specific type of candidate which has little or nothing to do with their potential teaching ability.  In fact, the best teacher I had in high school was an older black gentleman; someone who would probably be continuously be passed over for teaching gigs here when in reality, he was an awesome and engaging instructor.

Having said all that though, the above email is completely unnecessary.  Perhaps written in haste out of frustration and anger, it pretty much eliminates any chances of employment with these guys in the future.  Not that he’s looking to stay though but you should never burn bridges no matter how much you hate that bridge.  Now for those of you that have kept up with my blog (thanks!) you know that I’m very unsympathetic on the industry that I’ve worked in for several years.  However, a job is a job anywhere you go.  Be professional about it.  If you don’t get a reply back, apply somewhere else (again and again and again).

Don’t send emails like this.  It won’t solve anything and the only person that looks bad is you.  And yes, recruiters ALREADY look bad.

Written by recruiterinkorea

January 10, 2010 at 4:29 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What you say is true, this guy/girl just looks like an idiot now.

    As two people who have just gone through the recruiting process and are now in South Korea, I can sympathise with what he/she is saying – it is frustrating when you feel like you are getting nowhere. However, the fact that he/she would take time to write this email makes them seem bitter and sad.

    Also, if he/she is in Korea, why not apply direct to hagwons (if that is what they are after)??. It seems like this person finds it easy to point the finger of blame to the recruiters but not so easy to actually get out there and find a job themselves.

    And is it really that there is no jobs for someone with 8 years experience, or just that they have a piss-poor attitude and what recruiter would want to place them?? Hmm.

    vicandric

    January 10, 2010 at 9:21 pm

  2. This isn’t a comment for the blog but not sure how else to contact you.

    Any interest in working with a loyal reader who is looking for a job for April?

    I am 9 1/2 months into my first contract (finish April 6th.)

    Email: savstrom@augsburg.edu

    savstrom

    January 11, 2010 at 9:48 am

  3. And can you delete that comment once you see it?

    savstrom

    January 11, 2010 at 9:49 am

    • Hey Savstrom,

      Sorry but I cannot use this site for mine or my agency’s benefit (ie. inadvertently collect applicants). My best suggestion is to use my advice on this site to find a recruiter/school suitable for you. Please check this post.

      Who knows, we might cross paths eventually:)

      recruiterinkorea

      January 11, 2010 at 11:55 am

  4. Hey, I have a question about visas and getting a new job. I have a job, contract, and visa all processed. My job starts in a little under 2 months. Everything is great on that end. Problem is, I was planning on having a minor surgery before I left, but my insurance is messed up and won’t be able to fit me in before I leave. So, assuming I can’t work this out with my employer and start later, etc. Is it possible to get another visa /job if I have to back out of this one? What are the logistics involved?

    Tommy

    January 11, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    • If you visa is already processed I’m certain that your current employer would be a little peeved however, you can always back out. Just tell them that you need to get surgery so you need to delay your start. If they want to cancel on you, just ask for your documents back. You would have to start the visa process all over again with another employer of course.

      That said, think carefully before you make your move. Is your surgery absolutely necessary before you leave or can you hold off until you arrive in Korea (not sure if the national health insurance plan would cover it though). If this is a good gig, it would make the decision harder obviously but if you can’t wait, then there’s nothing you can do but delay.

      recruiterinkorea

      January 11, 2010 at 3:32 pm

  5. […] an instructor.  I’ve mentioned before what candidates should not do before the application, during the application, and after getting a […]

  6. […] agree with most of it, especially the part about rudeness (as I’ve mentioned many times before), but not wholly on the part of ‘recruiting […]


Leave a Reply

