Recruiter In Korea

The Honest Truth About Recruiting in Korea

Number of hagwon increases 50-fold

with 5 comments

When I saw the title of this article, I got a little excited.  Finally, a turnaround on the poor economy?  Then I read this:

The number of Korea’s private educational institutes, known as hagwon, has increased nearly 50-fold since 1970.

Nevertheless I feel sorry for Korean kids.  When I was young (which was a very long time ago), I came home from school around 3:30 pm, did some homework if I had any, ate a snack, played video games, watched TV, ate dinner, and was in bed by 11:00 pm.  Man I miss those days.  I did go to a math hagwon for a couple of months but other than that, I had tons of free time to meet friends and do nothing.

Kids need a social life too but it’s way too competitive here.  Can’t complain though; it’s keeping us in business after all.

Written by recruiterinkorea

January 13, 2010 at 2:32 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I believe it’s truly sad that Korean kids spend so much time becoming educated. I understand it’s the nature of the beast, but they are in many ways being “robbed” of their childhood. I see balance as an important aspect of life. Korean children are a prime example of unbalanced in a country which is fairly wealthy. Unbalanced in Sudan, I can understand.

    Reprobate

    January 13, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    • My thoughts exactly. It’s no wonder that there are so many socially inept folks in their 20s and 30s. The dating game here is more in line with middle/high school back home.

      recruiterinkorea

      January 13, 2010 at 3:12 pm

  2. Another question:

    Is it OK to email a recruiter without a particular job in mind?

    For example, a recruiter has advertised some jobs I would be interested in but the starting dates are not good for me. Should I email anyway to get on their radar or will I just be ignored if I’m not responding to a specific job?

    savstrom

    January 14, 2010 at 8:56 am

    • Absolutely okay. If you show interest and you’re a good candidate, the recruiter should be able to find something for you. Remember that not all jobs are advertised.

      recruiterinkorea

      January 14, 2010 at 10:45 am

  3. […] U.S. (currently at 9.5%), jobs in Korea will definitely become more competitive.  Teaching jobs will always be plentiful in Korea, regardless of the economy.  I would love to say that competitiveness between instructors for […]


Leave a Reply

