Recruiter In Korea

The Honest Truth About Recruiting in Korea

Bad situation at a job?

with 2 comments

I hope you don’t mind Reprobate but I posted your comment here to give an example of a negative situation at work.  The example given doesn’t necessarily seem too bad, but Reprobate doesn’t disclose as to why the female VP doesn’t like him (or her?).  Maybe that’s for another post.

In a nutshell, the female VP does not like me, so in essence, I’m pretty much screwed. I asked my handler (primary co-teacher) to get me the answers to the following questions; When do I have to vacate the premisis? How do I empty my national pension? The ARC card expires on X, the contract on Y and there’s no exit date on my visa, just a “window” for entering S. Korea. Do I need to extend my ARC card. When will my flight reimbursement and contract completion settlement be deposited into my account?

This was 4-5 days ago. She’s nowhere to be found. So I get a text message yesterday stating my name and telling me “Stay Period Expiration Date : 2010.02.19″.
OK, where did this text message come from? King Sejong? Kim Jong Il? I assumed it was from immigration. But why did they just randomly text me this information without indentifying themselves? I caught the head of the English dept. spying on my winter camp class yesterday like a little girl. “Bagged” her red-handed!! Thoroughly enjoyed that moment!! Why is she sneaking around like a pre-teen school girl? Who knows. I gave up trying to comprehend what’s going on in this country.

There’s something going on around me, that pertains to me. I have no idea waht it is, but I know it’s there. I realize I may sound like a paraniod sociopath by stating this, but I’m not. Atleast I hope i’m not!! I just want to make sure I understand exactly what needs to be done in regard to the issues I have asked you about. I just don’t want anything coming back to haunt me. I see enough ghosts as it is.

Again, thanks for your input Mr. Recruiter. I’d send you a gallon of soju in appreciation, but your a phantom of the highest caliber.

You’re not the only one feeling paranoid and no, you’re not a sociopath.  Sometimes management tries to avoid foreigners as much as possible thus giving them little to no pertinent information.  My best guess is that they don’t want to speak in their shitty or non-existent English in front of their Korean colleagues or perhaps they’re too lazy to try to dig out information for you.  Either way, it’s stupid.

They may also feel that questions about pension are your responsibility.  Actually, if you don’t deal with E-2 residents on a regular basis, you may be pretty unaware of the processes to claim pension so it’s best to ask the pension office or other foreigners about this.

Other things, like severance, your airfare, and ARC issues, they should know and inform you about.

Cases where you feel a sense of dislike from management or coworkers are all too common in Korean workplaces for both Koreans and foreigners alike.  Some of it is perceived but unfortunately, usually it’s true.

The best thing to do is be diplomatic at all times.  A fellow recruiter at one of the big chains informed me that an instructor recently blew up at the director over some issue in front of other instructors and students.  He was promptly terminated.

While being diplomatic, if you’re not getting the answers you’re looking for, just be persistent to the point of annoyance.  If they will not get off their lazy asses to extend your ARC, simply tell them that you cannot legally work without a valid ARC.  Even though you may like your handler/co-teacher, annoy the shit out of her too.  They’ll finally be fed up and give you the answers that you need.  Try to get it in an email too if they try to pull a fast one later.

These are answers that they should be giving to you anyways.  This is a public school correct?  Maybe you should try contacting the recruiter for some answers.  If they are decent, they should help you out.

Remember at all times, be professional and calm.  I know things like this tend to piss most you off but as long as you don’t blow your top, you should get your answers.

Written by recruiterinkorea

January 20, 2010 at 4:11 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I assumed you might post this and it’s no big deal. It’s not like I haven’t heard stories similar to this and worse. I have a “confidant” at this public institution, the only person I trust (a sad situation indeed). He told me in confidance, that the reason I am not well received by those in power is because I do not understand Korean tradition and Korean “emotion”. I have to take responsibility for this lack of understanding.

    I don’t even know how to accept this notion. I just can’t rationalize this reason as valid. It has absolutely nothing to do with my performance, but everything to do with infantile cerebral complexes.

    Reprobate

    January 20, 2010 at 6:21 pm

  2. […] a comment » Per my last post, Reprobate explained why the vice-principle at his school disliked him: …the reason I am not […]


Leave a Reply

