Recruiter In Korea

The Honest Truth About Recruiting in Korea

Ask the Recruiter

with one comment

Erik wrote:

I also have a question. My wife and I will be applying for teaching jobs within the next month or so. What has been the average wait time lately since the market, as you say, is flooded with applicants? I know many variables factor into this, but we’re looking to teach in Seoul, since she’s from there, and we don’t need to teach at the same school.

One more thing, since she’ll qualify for an f-4 visa, we were thinking it might be easier to get me a job (E-2 visa) and have her worry about getting a job when we arrive. Would this, in fact, be easier?

Thanks in advance for the reply. Your blog is great. It’s both informative and entertaining.

I don’t want to write this in stone, but I think the market is finally starting to dry up a little.  Don’t take my word for it though yet as I want to see how things play out a bit.  We’re heading into the worst recruiting season of the year (April/May) and from my perspective there seems to be more positions than there are candidates compared to the same time last year.

That being said, Seoul positions, while still available, are still going to be harder to be placed in simply because it’s Seoul.  I was going to give you my ‘couple advice’ but since you guys don’t mind being placed at different schools, it shouldn’t apply to you.  It should then be a lot easier, especially if you’re wife has an F-4 visa.

I wouldn’t want to advise for her to try to find a job here without trying overseas first.  I’d say you should both apply to as many jobs as possible in Seoul before you depart and worst-case you find a job first and have her find a job once you get here (if she doesn’t find a position before departure).

It’s definitely easier, and definitely possible, for her to find a job locally.  Just from my perspective, I would rather have something secure so I wouldn’t have to worry about finding something once I arrive.  Good thing for her though is that she can just find a job while in the States and then if the job is a total sham, she could easily find something else when she’s there.

Written by recruiterinkorea

March 30, 2010 at 11:57 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for the prompt response!

    It makes me wish I qualified for an F-4 visa.

    Erik

    March 31, 2010 at 1:32 am


Leave a Reply

