Recruiter In Korea

The Honest Truth About Recruiting in Korea

Racist Recruiters

with 5 comments

I brought this up several times before and I know that anyone that has lived in Korea for more than one day is well aware that racism is alive and kicking here.  I happened upon this thread on ESL Cafe and wasn’t too surprised to read the following:

Another guy I know had him simply tell him Korean schools don’t like to hire black people, and hasn’t tried to get him a job. Holy crap, at least he could pretend to make it sound like he does not agree with the schools and lie about the reasons why the school rejected him, rather than make people feel guilty for trying to work in a “modern country” with a certain skin color. The scary thing is their office is in Vancouver, but I guess whether it is Canada or America it is still the same ugly side of Korea that shows.

Now, I’m not sure if this is true or not but if it is, then again, I’m not too surprised.  Just so uneducated and so unprofessional but hey, at least you’re making me look better.

I can’t say that I’m 100% innocent when it comes to race relations but I definitely wouldn’t outright say something that would make me look like a racist (I’m not).  However, with this industry comes the demands of the clients (hagwons, old-school directors) and we have to give them what they want.  Smart/politically-correct clients would never outright say they don’t hire black people or Chinese-Canadians (born in Canada!); they would just make up some excuse as to why not to hire them.  However, if we do see a negative trend, we simply tell them that we cannot place an instructor on time.

Written by recruiterinkorea

May 11, 2010 at 1:58 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi ‘recruiter,’

    I just found your site tonight through a link on another Korea blog.

    I may be a little late to the party, as they say, but I’ve already applied for and been accepted (tentatively) to Seoul/SMOE.

    In your post, you said “Smart/politically-correct clients would never outright say they don’t hire black people or Chinese-Canadians (born in Canada!); they would just make up some excuse as to why not to hire them.”

    Being Chinese-American, does this mean I have a higher chance of being turned down during my document review with EPIK/SMOE? Just curious as my wife & I have already spend at least $150USD trying to get the documents, TESOL certification, etc. to comply with EPIK guidelines.

    Would love to get the inside scoop on this as we will have to have the inevitable Plan B just in case EPIK falls through. Up to this point, we figured we had a good chance given that we were not declined during the initial application review & phone interviews.

    Look forward to hearing from you!

    (Also, would you mind if I linked to your blog from mine? Mine is still being set up and should go live in August -assuming we are accepted into EPIK).

    Allan

    June 7, 2010 at 4:53 pm

  2. […] a comment » Allan asked the following question regarding this post (and yes, you may absolutely link your blog to mine!): Hi ‘recruiter,’ I just found your site […]

  3. I’ve just recently written a post on racism in Korea. Being white, I’ve had no experience of racism but the girl at onlyinkorea87.blogspot.com recently encountered difficulties in in finding a job in Seoul.

    Jimmy

    June 19, 2010 at 11:35 pm

  4. […] can’t think of a better word right now) of appearances.  Of course, some are just downright racist and sexist but today let’s just talk about physical […]


Leave a Reply

