Recruiter In Korea

The Honest Truth About Recruiting in Korea

Ask the Recruiter: SAT Hagwons

with 4 comments

Lila Duggan asks:

Hey I’m looking into teaching English in Korea and I heard some people make bank with SAT hakwons. What’s your view on teaching at these SAT hakwons? Do you know what the best paying ones are-and the salary for them? I heard about the guy who got beat up because he was going to move hakwons…are these contracts legal under international law or is it just pieces of paper that barely cover up shady businesses?

I first discussed SAT/boutique hagwons here on my blog and 100% agree that these are the best teaching positions for making the best coin in Korea.  Since the Daechi area of Seoul is arguably the more affluent in all of Korea, I would say that this specific location is probably your best bet in terms of finding one of these gigs.  From my experience, these places rarely advertise, and the SAT instructors that I know of, found their jobs through word of mouth.  Also, these places tend to hire Korean-Americans with F-4s more than E-2 holders but I do know of a handful of the latter with these jobs.

I talked about someone I know here who teaches SATs full time.  It’s not an easy gig, as he works about 8 hours a day including weekends.  With his car, apartment, and bank account, I’m pretty sure that he thinks it’s worth it though.  Let’s just say his salary typically is more than 10 million KRW a month and up to 30 million KRW during peak season (when visa students return to Korea for vacation).

Yes, you’re right in terms of a lot of these places operating illegally in some way whether that be having classes beyond 10:00 pm, overcharging students through supplementary books, CDs, etc., and not reporting all their income.  Hagwon moms don’t really give a shit though as long as their kid has the edge.

The guy you’re referring to getting a beat down is this guy.

So that’s pretty much how it is in a nutshell.  Since these places rarely advertise (except maybe Princeton Review), you’re best bet would be to actually go to these places in person and show them your resume and proof of your perfect or near perfect SAT score.  Bear in mind though, unless you have a super high score AND went to a top ten U.S. school, they probably won’t give you a second look.

Written by recruiterinkorea

May 17, 2010 at 10:28 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What’s a good base score SAT-wise? Also, what about the MCAT, OAT, DAT? I actually have an excellent MCAT, PCAT score. I’m sure there are many Koreans trying to suck the U.S. professional tit.

    nampa

    December 14, 2010 at 8:44 am

  2. […] pay them a premium salary over E-2s.  Those that have a lot of experience and connections can make salaries many times than that of the average ESL […]

  3. Thanks for all the great information – your site is wonderful!

    I went to a top ten liberal arts school in the U.S. (majored in Classical Languages, planning on heading to graduate school after a year off) and scored a 780 on the reading portion of the SAT. However, I am a Korean-American, a fact which I have heard affects my ability to be hired.

    Do you think I have a chance as an SAT instructor? If so, do you know the best time of year to apply?

    Any help would be appreciated!

    Melissa U.

    March 5, 2012 at 3:04 pm

  4. Is there any way that you can take my name off the above? or change it? You could be creative! I just googled myself and I would really appreciate it!

    LD

    June 29, 2012 at 6:59 pm


Leave a Reply

