Recruiter In Korea

The Honest Truth About Recruiting in Korea

Don’t Call Your Recruiter on the Weekend…

leave a comment »

…or after business hours, especially at some ridiculous hour like 11:00 pm on a Friday night.  Unless I’ve asked you to do so of course.  It’s just plain rude and a reflection of the extreme lack of common sense.  This needs to be added to this post here.

I do have to give out my cell phone on certain occasions to confirm that a candidate has arrived in Korea, which is usually after 7:00 pm.  However, this does not give them the right to use that number as their personal complaint/help line.  You wouldn’t believe the questions I get:

“Can you tell me how to use my washing machine?’

“My neighbors are making a lot of noise, what should I do?”

“My boss is being a dick.”

“When is my payday?”

Why can’t this wait until Monday or why don’t you have enough sense to bring it up with your school?!?!?!?  One annoying phone call is all I need to block your number from further interruptions.  Now some of you may say that as a recruiter, I have to do my best to help applicants that go through me.  Again, the questions above speak for themselves.  I help candidates find a suitable position and the schools to find a suitable instructor.  That’s it.  I’m not a point person for ridiculousness like this.

I actually had a mother call me over the weekend from the U.S. at 11:00 pm relaying her worries that her ‘baby’ doesn’t know to speak Korean.  WTF?!?!?!?  What was she expecting me to say?

Plain stupid.  You’re not coming to a summer camp.  This is a job.  Take it seriously.

Written by recruiterinkorea

June 7, 2010 at 12:13 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

