Recruiter In Korea

The Honest Truth About Recruiting in Korea

More About Filipino Teachers

with 2 comments

Cris, a Filipino-American, concurs with my opinion on my previous posts (here and here) regarding the issue of Filipinos obtaining visas to teach in Korea.  Also included:  a shameless plug!! (which I will gladly oblige:))

First of all I am a Filam and my Caucasian wife and I totally agree that a lot of the Korean nationals that do come here to the Philippines aren’t getting their money’s worth. Here is an example of what they are taught. My current student and I were having dinner one night and he called for the waitress and asked, “can I have a bowel?”. I told him do you know what you just asked for? You just asked for a part of your digestive system. Then went ahead and told him how to properly pronounce the word “BOWL”. My student himself expressed his disappointment from learning from Filipino local tutors for six years. But I have some good news for all the new incoming Korean students, My student and my family have decided that this is enough and we have put up “Virtual America Institute of Conversational English” (Virtualamerica.asia) which is located 30 minutes from the International Airport here in Manila. We may not all be blonde and blue eyed, but we are all American teachers here. (My wife is a beautiful redhead with green eyes) Please don’t get us wrong, we are not trying to bash on my fellow Filipino’s either but how can you expect to learn how to speak and sound like an American from a Teacher/Tutor who is not a native English speaker?

Written by recruiterinkorea

June 14, 2010 at 10:16 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dear Filam, I really appreciate the efforts you guys have taken to put up virtualamerica.asia and I agree on your views too. But then why should one learn to ‘Speak’ English like an ‘American’. Why not like Australian or Canadian or any other NATIVE speaking country. Please dont take me wrong, I am not challenging your views but I need more clarification.

    Brijesh Bolar

    June 14, 2010 at 10:33 am

  2. […] a comment » Okay, my posts (here, here, and here) on the possibility of Filipino instructors have generated a lot of discussion.  […]


Leave a Reply

