Recruiter In Korea

The Honest Truth About Recruiting in Korea

The Future of the Korean ESL Market

with 4 comments

Jason wrote:

What is your predictions about the future of the Korean ESL market? Flooded market or teacher’s market? I would love to you know your insight on the current state of affairs.

I’ve been recruiting for around 4 years and I’ve never seen the teacher market as flooded as I did last year.  Sure, it’s flooded now but definitely not as much as last year when the U.S. economy was in the shits (wait, is that over yet?).  Last year, I definitely saw a shift from relatively less positions with significantly more applicants.  However, from my experience in 2010, it has become more normalized.  Maybe it’s because the growth of the number of available teaching positions outpaced the increase of applicants (the market which is still significantly flooded).

The month of May is always the worst month for recruiting.  In May 2009, this wasn’t an issue for the first time as a recruiter.  This year though, it was definitely a little more tougher (a little more, not a lot), than it was the previous year around the same time.  I believe that it will be a long way before it ever becomes a ‘teacher’s market’.  Even before the economy tanked, it was always a revolving door where instructors were easily replaced by newbies.

As long as the unemployment rate increases in the U.S. (currently at 9.5%), jobs in Korea will definitely become more competitive.  Teaching jobs will always be plentiful in Korea, regardless of the economy.  I would love to say that competitiveness between instructors for teaching jobs will improve the quality of the ESL market in Korea, but we all know that’s not true.  I think that we can just expect an increase of pretty people.

Written by recruiterinkorea

July 26, 2010 at 10:56 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Over the last few weeks I have been trying to find a recruiter that fits me, so far I have not had any luck. It is not that they can’t find me a job that would be frustrating but understandable, it is that at this point they aren’t even responding. I don’t really know what to do. Every day I don’t hear from someone I get more frustrated. Do you have any advice or is there some reason that recruiters seem completely uninterested in me?

    Jason

    August 17, 2010 at 4:43 am

  2. […] The Future of the Korean ESL Market « Recruiter In Korea […]

    • Hey there. I’m leaving at the beginning of October. If you are interested in working in Seoul, I can pass along your info to my school. It was simple working there, just annoying since you would be the only western person there and a little isolating if you don’t speak Korean. Other than that, the money is good, cost of living is low, and the ability to save ten grand in a year is no problem.

      Richard

      September 10, 2010 at 1:57 am

  3. […] today’s Chosun Ilbo.  Obviously the Korean ESL job market for foreigner native English speakers isn’t this bad.  Otherwise, my job would really suck.  Check out the jobs below: The most […]


Leave a Reply

