Recruiter In Korea

The Honest Truth About Recruiting in Korea

Getting a national CRC Check in Korea

with 7 comments

Savstrom asked:

Not related to this post but a question that many Americans are wondering about:

Could you please explain the new visa regulations requiring FBI CRC for Americans?

I am especially interested in how this pertains to people currently in Korea. Should anyone renewing a contract after January 1 plan on getting this? How can you get an Apostille while in Korea?

Immigration is now implementing that all criminal background/records check must be at the national level starting from 2011.  For Americans, a state-wide CRC will suffice until the end of this year.  Prior to that, a city-wide was good enough for the visa.  Immigration finally figured out that state-wide checks in the U.S. only checked the state where the search was conducted and after some idiots made all English instructors look bad, they now require the the nationwide check.  Therefore, an arrest/charge/conviction in Maryland for example, would not show up on a Virginia check.  We called immigration a month or so ago, and they said that since Canadian local checks all stated that a search was conducted in the ‘national repository’, they will still suffice for the new visa regulations.  Of course, they can change their mind on the matter whenever they please, so I’m still suggesting that all Canadians still get an RCMP check now if you plan on renewing or if you are going to find a job in the new year.

With regards to your questions about getting an FBI check in Korea, please go to their website to get all the forms for Americans who are currently overseas.  You will need to get your prints done here and then send them back to the U.S.  The FBI will then send the results to get the Apostille and then send everything back to you.   It will take a long time though (few months).

Written by recruiterinkorea

October 18, 2010 at 7:00 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi.
    I have written about my experience of getting FBI fingerprinting done here in Korea. For your readers this would likely be very helpful.

    http://foreignerjoy.blogspot.com/2010/10/darn-fbi-fingerprinting.html

    Joy

    October 18, 2010 at 7:37 pm

  2. I just called the SF Korean Consulate and they said that they only accept FBI apostilled CRC’s for a C-4 visa for a 2011 winter camp which means you have to have a spend almost 4 months of waiting and leg work (up to 12 weeks for the CRC and another 3 weeks to get it apostilled by the department of state) for a one month job. I am wondering if there is any documentation anywhere that I can hand to the SF Korean embassy so they will process my c-4 application with just a state crc. I have gotten 2 other c-4’s before does that count for anything? I am putting this in the comment section because I could not see an email link.

    Sarah

    October 21, 2010 at 8:03 am

    • Unfortunately, if you want to get a new job or renew starting from 2011, you will need to get an FBI check regardless if you had a visa in the past.

      recruiterinkorea

      October 22, 2010 at 10:45 am

  3. Seems i heard somewhere that once the CRC is completed at the Fed level and turned in to immigration, that that process never had to be repeated. Is this true?

    I did not change jobs or visas this year meaning that in March my visa was simply renewed (I was not required to obtain a new CRC). But I got one done anyway and I have it in hand. Should I just take it to immigration so that when the time comes for a new job, I won’t have to worry about that part?

    k

    February 25, 2011 at 1:30 pm

  4. how i know if one korean is a single in south korea?please reply me thru me email add : disteysed1@yahoo.com.please help me.thank you so much.

    jackiey

    July 5, 2012 at 1:27 pm

  5. how i know if one korean is a single in south korea?because he doesn’t want to show his single certification.i live here philippines.please reply me thru me email add : disteysed1@yahoo.com.please help me.thank you so much

    jackiey

    July 5, 2012 at 1:33 pm


Leave a Reply

